Four-year institutions

What is the purpose of reverse transfer?

One mission of the Colorado Department of Higher Education is to increase the number of postsecondary credentials earned by students to meet anticipated workforce needs.

Two years ago, Metropolitan State University of Denver began its reverse transfer pilot and has awarded 40 as of September 2013. In 2012, state lawmakers approved Senate Bill 12-45, creating a statewide reverse transfer program. The Colorado reverse transfer project, dubbed Degree Within Reach, will be fully implemented over the next two years.

Implementing Reverse Transfer

Each participating four-year institution has signed a memorandum of understanding with the Colorado Community College System and the Colorado Department of Higher Education. These MOUs outline the four-year institutions’ expected contributions to implementing reverse transfer. The contributions include:

• Continuing to report student and course-level data for students to the department through SURDS;
• Cooperating with CCCS and CDHE to transfer data electronically;
• Communicating with eligible students regarding reverse transfer;

Trainings and information sessions will be available to those advising reverse transfer students. The Department of Higher Education will directly contact each institution.

Please visit this list of Frequently Asked Questions regarding implementation policy for more information.

Participating universities

Colorado Mesa University
Colorado State University
Colorado State University – Global Campus
Colorado State University – Pueblo
Metropolitan State University of Denver
Regis University
University of Colorado Boulder
University of Colorado Colorado Springs
University of Colorado Denver
Western State Colorado University

Participating community colleges

Arapahoe Community College
Colorado Northwestern Community College
Community College of  Aurora
Community College of Denver
Front Range Community College
Lamar Community College
Morgan Community College
Northeastern Junior College
Otero Junior College
Pikes Peak Community College
Pueblo Community College
Red Rocks Community College
Trinidad State Community College

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s